Kuwait University

An Amiri Decree was passed in April, 1966 on the organisation of higher education in Kuwait. Following this, the Kuwait University (KU) came into being with the establishment of two faculties: the Faculties of Science, Arts and Education and the Girl’s College. Full-fledged studies started in 1966-67 with 418 students and a faculty of 31.

In the first batch, 359 students were Kuwaitis. The number of students admitted at the University represented 70 per cent of the total number of students who passed the secondary school certificate examinations. Females represented 42 per cent of the total number of students enrolled that year.

Soon, the new university was expanded. Its days of prosperity and fame started with the growth in the number of students and faculty. The number of the registered students in 1984-85 in the first academic term was over 15,000. The number of staff members increased 28 times over the same period.

The university budget provides for scientific, technical and administrative expertise to secure sound work procedures. Among the specialised study centres that the university has is a Language Centre that was established during the academic year 1973-74. It was started as the technical and administrative authority entrusted with the teaching of all foreign language courses in the university.

The Mission of Kuwait University is :

1. to foster the country’s scientific and cultural heritage;
2. develop human resources and boost productivity and efficiency;
3. participate in community service;
4. and develop cultural and scientific ties between local, Arab and global institutions.

The aim of the University is to allow its students to benefit from the fruits of knowledge, culture, civilisation, heritage and intellectual creation, to develop human resources, raise their productive ability and their cultural and social level, and to contribute to society’s development.

Today, Kuwait University has expanded and grown to be recognised internationally as one of the most prominent universities in the Gulf.

The university comprises a number of colleges and departments:

Faculty of Arts
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Administrative Science
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Engineering and Petroleum
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Shari’a and Islamic Studies.
Faculty of Social Science.
Faculty of Dentistry