State System

Kuwait is an independent and sovereign Arab state. It is a hereditary Emirate and follows a democratic system of governance.

The Amirs of Kuwait are descendants of the late HH Mubarak Al-Sabah. Legislative power is vested in the Amir and the National Assembly. Executive power is vested in the Amir, the Cabinet and the Ministers, while Judicial authority is vested in the courts.

The Cabinet headed by the Prime Minister includes ministers in charge of one or more portfolios. The Prime Minister, traditionally the Crown Prince, is appointed by the Amir. The ministers are appointed by the Amir on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

Kuwait has an effective and well-functioning Judiciary, which decides all kinds of conflicts between various parties. A constitutional court, set up in accordance with the constitution, arbitrates on disputes relating to the constitutionality of laws, law decrees and regulations.

Kuwait also has an Audit Bureau which is responsible for preserving public funds and ensuring their optimal use through effective financial supervision. It reports to the Speaker of the National Assembly.

The country is divided into six Governorates. Each Governorate is administered by its own local governing body called the Governorate Council.